Life Science Leader Magazine Supplements

CRO Guide 2016

The vision of Life Science Leader is to help facilitate connections and foster collaborations in pharma and med device development to get more life-saving and life-improving therapies to market in an efficient manner. Connect, Collaborate, Contribute

Issue link: https://lifescienceleadermag.epubxp.com/i/672523

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 45

EDITOR'S NOTE LSL LIFESCIENCELEADER.COM THE CRO LEADERSHIP AWARDS 2016 4 the Disruptive Innovations conference last fall, I knew the discussion belonged in this issue. Some of the topics covered in the article include the growth of CROs, standardization, and the challenges faced by CROs and what they will need to do to continue to be a vendor of choice for sponsors. With the way clinical trials are changing, it should come as no surprise that sponsors expect their CROs to adapt to those changes. It wasn't too long ago that many pharma compa- nies were not dealing with patient-centricity issue, risk-based monitoring, adaptive trials, electronic files and records, and wearable technologies. While many of these changes have the potential to fundamentally transform clinical trials, they also have the potential to disrupt operations within companies. In the past, a CRO might be expected to perform a task requested by a client. Today, those same clients are expecting the CRO to come to them with innovative ideas and new methods of incorporating novel technologies. Rob DiCicco, VP of clinical innovation and digital platforms at GSK, recently summed up this expectation for me. "I am always inter- ested in what the CRO is able to bring to the table in terms of know-how," he says. "We are always looking for ideas that can disrupt the company. We celebrate the fact that there are companies that know things we don't. When a CRO can bring innovative knowledge and expertise to the relationship, it helps both of us to get to a better place, and we welcome their ideas that will help us come up with the best possible plan." I hope the insights in this issue will help you come up with better clinical plans, as well. l here are a couple of differences you will see in this 2016 installment of our annual CRO Supplement. The first, which you may have already noticed, is the cover. In the past, these cov- ers have featured an image that seemed to best illustrate a concept we addressed in the issue. That was very different from the typical cover you see on Life Science Leader , which always features a prominent executive from the pharma and biotech industries. Beginning with this CRO supplement, we will feature a clinical executive whom you will likely know and recognize. I was thrilled when Dr. Corsee Sanders agreed to be the first executive to grace the cover of this issue. I first spoke with her last fall while preparing an article for our December Industry Outlook. Her comments and insights into the future of clinical trials were refreshing and insightful. Part of that had to do with her background, which is in math and statistics, rather than pharmaceutical development. This gives her a different perspective on how we should be gathering, analyzing, and using the data gathered from trials. In this article, Sanders discusses a challenge she faced when stepping into the role of global head of clinical operations at Roche. As a statistician, she was uncomfortable with decisions based on information that employ- ees knew from experience but couldn't back up with hard data. In addition, it seemed the same data sets could exist in different systems, and yet yield different results. One of her current projects attempts to bring those systems together under one umbrella, with a single dashboard providing executives with the answers they need. What does she see as the benefits of such an endeavor? You can read about it beginning on page 6. If you're a regular reader of Life Science Leader , then you also know our editorial focus is on executives at bio and pharma companies rather than technology or service providers. But an article in this issue examining the CRO of the future features an executive from Merck, as well as leaders from three contract research firms. When I heard these gentlemen speak at LIFE SCIENCE LEADER 5340 Fryling Rd., Suite 300 / Erie, PA 16510-4672 Telephone: 814 897 7700 / Fax: 814 899 4648 WWW.LIFESCIENCELEADER.COM SVP OF PUBLISHING/PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT Jon Howland / Ext. 203 jon.howland@lifescienceconnect.com VP OF CONTENT Ed Hess ed.hess@lifescienceconnect.com EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Dan Schell / Ext. 284 dan.schell@lifescienceleader.com CHIEF EDITOR Rob Wright / Ext. 140 rob.wright@lifescienceconnect.com EXECUTIVE EDITORS Wayne Koberstein wayne.koberstein@lifescienceleader.com Louis Garguilo louis.garguilo@lifescienceconnect.com Ed Miseta ed.miseta@lifescienceconnect.com Trisha Gladd trisha.gladd@lifescienceconnect.com SENIOR DIRECTOR OF PUBLISHING Perry Rearick perry.rearick@lifescienceconnect.com VP OF AUDIENCE DEVELOPMENT Michael Bennett michael.bennett@lifescienceconnect.com PRODUCT DIRECTOR Jenell Skemp jenell.skemp@lifescienceconnect.com PROJECT MANAGER Megan Rainbow megan.rainbow@lifescienceconnect.com DIRECTOR, LIFE SCIENCE TRAINING INSTITUTE Bill Beyer bill.beyer@lifescienceconnect.com PUBLISHER, CLINICAL & CONTRACT RESEARCH Sean Hoffman / 724 940 7557 / Ext. 165 sean.hoffman@lifescienceconnect.com PUBLISHER/BIOPHARM & LAB Shannon Primavere / Ext. 279 shannon.primavere@lifescienceconnect.com PUBLISHER/OUTSOURCING Cory Coleman / Ext. 108 cory.coleman@lifescienceconnect.com ENGAGEMENT MANAGER Kevin Morey kevin.morey@lifescienceconnect.com GROUP PUBLISHER/OUTSOURCING Ray Sherman / Ext. 335 ray.sherman@lifescienceconnect.com BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT MANAGER Mike Barbalaci / Ext. 218 mike.barbalaci@lifescienceconnect.com SR. ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE Scott Moren / Ext. 118 scott.moren@lifescienceconnect.com PRODUCTION DIRECTOR Lynn Netkowicz / Ext. 205 lynn.netkowicz@jamesonpublishing.com MANAGE SUBSCRIPTIONS 814 897 9000 / Ext. 315 subscriptions@jamesonpublishing.com linkedin.com/in/edmiseta @ EdClinical facebook.com/LifeScienceLeader CROs Will Play A Critical Role In The Future Of Drug Development E D M I S E T A Executive Editor, Clinical Leader M AY 2 01 6 CR O S U PPLE M E NT T

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Life Science Leader Magazine Supplements - CRO Guide 2016